Skip to main content
Version: 0.22.2

Create Workflows

Data science workflows describe all of the steps taken in a project from data ingestion to transformation to analysis. As you work in a session, your DataChat sentences are recorded and can be saved as a workflow. The workflow can then be edited, replayed, and shared as needed.

In this chapter:

Save a Workflow

To save your current session as a workflow, click Save in the sidebar. The Save form opens.

Save Workflow form

  1. Click Workflow.
  2. Enter a descriptive name for your new workflow.
  3. Optionally, select Overwrite to overwrite an existing workflow with the same name.
  4. Click Submit.

This saves your session as a workflow object, which you can access from the Workflows section on the homepage. Interim modifications to notes are not included in a saved workflow all modifications to a note are captured in one Modify line.

To improve workflow replays, some skills are not included in saved workflows:

  • Collaborate on this workflow with <user>
  • Connect to the view <view name>
  • Create a new alert <alert>
    • a new API <api name>
  • Export the current workflow to <file name>
    • the saved workflow <workflow name> to <file name>
  • Forget the alert <alert>
  • Help me
  • List all alerts
  • Publish the <object>
  • Replay the workflow <workflow name>
  • Save the current chart as <name>
    • the current session as
    • the defined expressions to <file>
  • Share the connection <connection name>
    • the file <file name>
    • the workflow <workflow name>
  • Subscribe to the alert <alert name>
  • Unsubscribe from alert <alert name>

Save a Trimmed Workflow

If you've spent a lot of time exploring your data, calculating different values, and plotting charts, you might want to save a workflow that includes only the tables and charts you actually need.

note

To save a trimmed workflow, you must be in Notebook mode.

To save a trimmed workflow:

  1. Select each of the tables, charts, and notes you want to keep using the checkbox in the header.
  2. Click the Save button in the toolbar.
  3. Give your workflow a name.
  4. Click Submit.

saving a trimmed workflow

The resulting workflow contains only the utterances necessary to create the selected charts, tables, and notes.

Save a Copy of a Workflow

  1. From the homepage, click the Workflows page.
  2. Select the workflow to copy.
  3. Click the More button.
  4. Click the Save As button, then enter a new name for the copy.

saving a copy of a workflow

Tag and Describe a Workflow

You can add tags and a description to your saved workflows to make them easier to search for and to remind yourself, and anybody else with access to the workflow, what the workflow does.

To add tags and a description:

  1. From the homepage, click the Workflows page.
  2. Select the workflow to tag and describe.
  3. Click the More button.
  4. Click the Edit Metadata button, and enter a new name.

the metadata editor button

  1. Add a description of the workflow.
  2. Add keywords in the Keywords field and then click the + button to save it. Repeat this step to add as many keywords as you need.

the metadata editor

  1. Close the Metadata Editor to save your changes.