Skip to main content
Version: 0.18.3

Save and Reuse with Snapshots

A DataChat snapshots saves the collection of datasets from a session to resume work later, load large datasets before working, or to share the datasets from a session.

Save a Snapshot

To save your current session as a snapshot:

  1. Click the Save button.
  2. Click the Snapshot option.
  3. Enter a name for your new snapshot.
  4. Optionally, select the force overwrite checkbox to overwrite an existing snapshot with the same name.
  5. Click Submit.

save a snapshot

If you'd like to only save specific datasets from your session, you can enter in the chat box: Save the current session as a snapshot <name> adding the datasets <datasets>.

Open a Snapshot

To use a snapshot:

  1. From the homepage, click the Snapshots tab to open the Snapshots .
  2. Select the snapshot you'd like to open.
  3. Click the Open Snapshot button.

open shapshot icon

Edit a Snapshot

To edit a snapshot:

  1. From the homepage, click the Snapshots tab to open the Snapshots page.
  2. Select the snapshot to edit.
  3. Click the Edit Snapshot button to open the editor.

edit button

Refresh a Snapshot

To refresh a snapshot, enter in the chat box: Refresh the snapshot <snapshot name>. Or, from the homescreen, click the Snapshots tab, select a snapshot, and click the Refresh Snapshot button. This replays the workflow associated with the snapshot.

refresh snapshot button

Rename a Snapshot

You can rename a snapshot from the Snapshots page or from within a session in the chat box.

Snapshot Page

From the homepage:

  1. Click the Snapshots tab to open the Snapshots page.
  2. Click on the snapshot to rename so it is highlighted as selected.

Snapshot Editor

The Editor allows you to edit and test your snapshots without leaving DataChat.

Open the Editor

To edit a saved workflow with the Editor, first find your saved snapshot file and open it:

  1. From the homepage, click the Snapshots tab.
  2. Select the workflow to edit.
  3. Click the Edit Snapshot button.

edit button

Edit Your Snapshot

With the Editor open, you can use the textbox on the left side to make changes to your workflow. You can:

  • Change pieces of individual utterances, such as values or column names.
  • Add or remove utterances.
  • Manage versions.
  • Save the snapshot as a new snapshot with a different name.

Update Utterances

To add an utterance:

  1. Select the line that you'd like to add the utterance after.
  2. Click Enter to create a new line beneath the previous.
  3. Enter the additional utterance you'd like to add.

Editor add lines

To delete an utterance:

  1. Use the checkbox to select the lines that you'd like to delete.
  2. Click the Cut button.

Editor delete lines

Be careful and make sure you test your edits before using an edited workflow or snapshot.

When you're done making your changes, click Save.

Undo and Redo Edits

To undo an edit, click Command + Z.

To redo an edit, click Shift + Command + Z.

note

Changes cannot be undone or redone if the utterance that the change targets has been replayed.

Verify Edited Snapshots

If you edit a verified snapshot, it changes to unverified. An unverified snapshot preceded by a red icon and is followed by a yellow icon noting unsaved changes have been made.

Workflow Editor - verify workflows

To verify a snapshot to ensure it works as expected in a session, click the Restart button from the sidebar to see that the edited snapshot doesn't run into any errors. If no errors are encountered the snapshot will automatically verify and save.

Workflow Editor - verify workflows

note

Snapshot that haven't been verified in the Editor before (such as older snapshot) need to be verified when they're next opened in the Editor.

Manage Snapshot Versions

When you save a snapshot with the same name as an existing snapshot, or make a change and save it, a new version of that snapshot is created. To review previous versions or revert back to a previous version in the Editor, you can:

  1. Click the Version Manager button to view each version of the snapshot.

Workflow version manager

  1. Click the row for the version you want to review or revert to. The contents of that version appear in the main pane of the Editor.

Workflow Versions

  1. Make the desired edits or reversions to the selected version.
  2. Click Restore to make this version the most recent version, or click Save As to save this version as a new snapshot. Give your new snapshot a name, then click Submit.

restore or save changes

Test Your Edits

To test that your changes work the way you intended, click the Replay button from the sidebar. You can select to have the snapshot replay stepwise or continuously. Chat responses and and visualizations will appear on the right side of the Editor.

test edits

Rename a Snapshot

To rename a snapshot:

  1. From the homepage, click the Snapshots page.
  2. Select the snapshot to rename.
  3. Click the Rename Snapshot button.
  4. Enter the new name, then click Submit.

rename button

Session

From within a session: If you would like to add datasets to an existing snapshot, enter in the chat box:

Save the current session as a snapshot <name> adding the datasets <additional datasets>.

Share a Snapshot

You can share a saved snapshot with another user with the Share skill, or you can:

  1. From the homescreen, click the Snapshots tab to open the Snapshots page.
  2. Select the snapshot to share.
  3. Click the Share Snapshot button.

share a snapshot

  1. Select the users to share the snapshot with.
  2. Select whether they are an editor or viewer of the snapshot.
  3. Click Save.

share a snapshot form

Delete a Snapshot

To delete a snapshot:

  1. From the homepage, click the Snapshots tab to open the Snapshots page.
  2. Select the snapshot to delete.
  3. Click the Delete Snapshot button.

delete snapshot button