Skip to main content
Version: 0.21.2

Work with Others

DataChat provides several ways to work with others in your organization.

Share Charts

Once you've created a chart or table, the chart menu includes four options for sharing.

chart menu

From left to right:

  • Click the Publish button to publish a chart to an Insights Board. You can then share the Insights Board with others in your organization.

  • Click the Copy link to clipboard button to generate a URL that is copied to the clipboard. When the recipient clicks on the link, the interactive chart opens in a browser window.

  • Click the Export chart button to download the chart as a PNG file. Unlike the browser link described above, the static image is not interactive.

  • Click the Export the chart's data button to download the dataset that was used to create the chart as a CSV file.

Share Tables

A dataset selected in the dataset panel includes two options for sharing.

panel Grid table menu

  • Click the Publish button to publish a table to an Insights Board. You can then share the Insights Board with others in your organization.

  • Click the Export table button to run the Export skill. The selected version of the dataset in the table is saved as a CSV file and the success message in the chat panel displays the link. Click on the link to download the CSV.

Share Objects

There are two ways to share database connections, files, folders, Insights Boards, snapshots, and workflows with other users:

  • Homepage. The Share button within each homepage sidebar section.
  • Session. The Share skill from within a session.

Homepage: Use the Share Button

From the homepage, you can use the Share button to share an object with other users. To share a file, use the Share Skill.

homepage share button

  1. Select the specific DataChat object to share.
  2. Click the Share button.

The Share form opens.

homepage share dialog

  1. Select the users with whom to share.
  2. Select whether they have "Viewer" or "Editor" permissions.
  3. Click Save.

Session: Use the Share Skill

From the chat box within a session, you can use the Share skill to send to other users: database connections, files, snapshots, and workflows.

  • To share a connection to a database (with or without credential information), enter Share the connection <name> and select whether you want to send credential information, then enter with and select the users to share the connection with.

  • To share a file with another user, enter Share the file <name> with and select or enter their email address.

  • To share a snapshot with other users, enter Share the snapshot <snapshot name> with and select the user emails with whom you want to share the snapshot. Optionally, add the extension calling the shared snapshot <shared snapshot name> to rename the snapshot as you share it. You can also share a snapshot that was created with the Share by you (or shared with you) by entering Share the snapshot with and selecting the user emails with whom you want to share.

  • To share a workflow with another user, enter Share the workflow <name> with all users in my organization or Share the workflow called <name> with and select or enter their email addresses. Note that you must be a level three user to share a workflow with all of the users in your organization. Also, only you, the originating user, can delete the workflow.

On the receiving end, the shared files, snapshots, and workflows can be viewed in the File Manager (Settings > Files or user icon > My Files). The receiver can use the file, snapshot, or workflow in skills such as Connect, Load, and Replay.

Collaborate with Others

With the Collaborate skill, you can work with another user in real time by temporarily granting them access to your account, including your workflows, files, and databases. When you end the session, the user you’re collaborating loses their temporary access to your account.

To begin collaborating on your workflow with another user, enter Collaborate on this workflow with in the chat box, then select or enter their email address. The number of collaborators appears next to the workflow name.

Collaborate on a workflow

note

On the receiving side, the workflow appears in the Active Sessions section of the homepage. You, the sender, are listed as the workflow's owner.

When the receiver opens the session, they see the exact same content in the chat history and display panel as you do. From here, you and the receiver can work on the workflow together in real time.