Skip to main content
Version: 0.17.6

Share with Others

DataChat makes it easy to share and collaborate on your work with other users.

Share Content with Others​

There are two ways to share workflows, files, snapshots, and Insights Boards with other users. You can use the:

  • Share skill from within a session.
  • The Share button from the Workflows, Insights Boards, Snapshots, Connections, and My Work tabs on the homepage.

Use the Share Skill​

You can use the Share skill to send workflows, files, and snapshots to other users. To:

  • Share a workflow with another user, enter Share the workflow <name> with all users in my organization or Share the workflow called <name> with and select or enter their email address. Note that you must be a level three user to share a workflow with all of the users in your organization. Also, only you, the originating user, can delete the workflow.

  • Share a file with another user, enter Share the file <name> with and select or enter their email address.

  • Share a snapshot with other users, enter Share the snapshot <snapshot name> with and select the emails of the users you want to share the snapshot with. Optionally, enter calling the shared snapshot <shared snapshot name> to rename the snapshot as you share it. You can also share a snapshot that was created with the Share by you (or shared with you) by entering Share the snapshot with and selecting the emails of the users in your organization you want to share it with.

  • Share a connection to a database (with or without credential information), enter Share the connection <name>, select whether you want to send credential information, then enter with and select the users to share the connection with.

On the receiving end, the shared workflows and files can be seen in the File Manager and selected in skills just like any other workflow, file, or database, such as Replay, Load, and Connect.

You can also share charts with others by sending the charts as an image, sending an interactive link, or posting the chart to Facebook Workplace. Refer to the Share a Chart section for more information.

Use the Share Button​

From the homepage, you can use the Share button from the Workflows, Insights Boards, Snapshots, Connections, and My Work tabs to share those items with other users:

  1. Go to the tab of the item you want to share.

  2. Select the item.

  3. Click the Share button.

  4. Select the users to share it with.

  5. Click Submit.

Collaborate On Your Work with Others​

With the Collaborate skill, you can work with another user in real time by temporarily granting them access to your account, including your workflows, files, and databases. When you end the session, the user you’re collaborating loses their temporary access to your account.

To begin collaborating on your workflow with another user, enter Collaborate on this workflow with and select or enter their email address. The number of collaborators appears next to the workflow name.

note

On the receiving side, the workflow appears in the Active Sessions section of the homepage. You, the sender, are listed as the app's owner.

When the receiver opens the session, they see the exact same content in the chat history and display panel as you do. From here, you and the receiver can work on the workflow together in real time.